“2017 Citizen of the Year” Nominations Due May 31

The Kiwanis Club of Mukilteo is again sponsoring the “Citizen of the Year” award bestowed to an outstanding, community-minded resident. This prestigious award has been given out to 56 residents since 1970. Both individuals or couples can be selected, and posthumous awards (Jim Brice) are also considered.

The process for selecting the award winner is simple: those residents who have previously been selected comprise the selection committee. The 2016 recipient was Debra Bordsen for her outstanding community service. Both of her parents, Lois (1995) and Bruce Brown (2002), have also been individually selected as Citizens of the Year (COY).  Previous COY recipients include Stan Lundgaard (2015), John Collier (2014), Jim Brice (2014), Kathy Wisbeck (2013), Elizabeth Erickson (2011), Tony McNulty (2009), Paul Archipley (2008), former Mayor Don Doran (2007), Tim Taylor (2004) and many other very deserving Mukilteo citizens.

Nominees must be a resident of the City of Mukilteo, and must not be a current elected official. To nominate someone by the deadline of May 31, complete the attached application and include a letter of recommendation.  Hint: include the nominee’s accomplishments in business and the community.  The 2017 selection will be made public at a reception on Saturday, July 29, 2017 from 2 – 4pm at Harbour Pointe Senior Living and co-hosted with Kiwanis.  The winner is also invited to ride in the Mukilteo Lighthouse Festival parade and is also honored with the Mukilteo Historical Society’s Pioneer of the Year.

For more information, contact Tim Taylor at 425.330.0399 or email mukilteocitizenof2017@gmail.com.

2017 Citizen of the Year Nomination Form

File: http://mukilteowa.gov/wp-content/uploads/Citizen-of-the-year-form-2017.pdf
Link: https://mukilteowa.gov/2017-citizen-of-the-year-nominations-due-may-31/

Thank you for your upload