Home » City Departments » Executive » Mayor’s Office » Lodging Tax Grants

Lodging Tax Grants

Municipalities of five thousand or more must establish a Lodging Tax Advisory Committee.  This committee has unique membership requirements, consisting of at least five members, and membership must include two members who are representatives of businesses required to collect the taxes, two members who are persons involved in activities authorized to be funded by revenue received by the taxes, and one elected official who serves as the Committee Chair.  The Mukilteo Lodging Tax Committee is comprised of 3 members from the hotel industry, 3 members from community non-profits, and 1 sitting Councilmember.  There is a staff liaison to administratively support the Committee.

Lodging tax funds are collected by a 2% tax assessed on hotel/motels stays in Mukilteo.  RCW 67.28.180 restricts use of the tax to fund tourism promotion; and acquisitions, operations, and/or maintenance of tourism facilities within the City.

Lodging Tax Fund Grant applications are evaluated annually by the Lodging Tax Advisory Committee who make funding recommendations to the City Council.  City Council makes the final decision on project approval and funding levels.

2023-24 Committee Members:

  • Committee Chair:  Councilmember Jason Moon
  • Nancy Passovoy – Kiwanis of Mukilteo
  • John Collier – Mukilteo Historical Society
  • Shawn Walker – Staybridge Suites
  • Timothy Carr – Hilton Garden Inn



Thank you for your upload