Home » City Departments » Executive » History of Mukilteo Mayors

History of Mukilteo Mayors

Mukilteo, Washington was incorporated on May 8, 1947 with a population of 775 residents and elected School Administrator Alfred Tunem as its first Mayor. At that time, Mukilteo encompassed 794 acres. Since 1947, there have been 13 Mayors, 12 men and one woman, serving the City and residents; some for only a short time, others for 4 year-year terms.  In 1991, during Mayor Sullivan’s tenure, the City annexed Harbour Pointe and the population grew from about 6,900 to almost 13,000, while the area of the City grew to 6.6 square miles. In 2019, Mukilteo’s population was 21,350.

MAYOR Chronology 1947 – Present

Joe Marine

Mayor 2022 -

Mayor Marine served on the Mukilteo City Council from 1998 – 2001 before accepting a position to serve as a state legislator. in 2005, Mayor Marine was elected Mayor and served two-terms. Mr. Marine was again elected to the Mukilteo City Council in 2019, and then elected as Mayor in 2021. He began serving his new term on January 1, 2022.

Contact Information

Phone Number: (425) 263-8018
Email Address: jmarine@mukilteowa.gov
Photo of Joe Marine

Jennifer Gregerson

Mayor 2014 - 2021

Jennifer Gregerson, the City’s first woman mayor, was elected in 2013 and re-elected to a second term in 2017.  Prior to her election as Mayor, she served on the Mukilteo City Council from 2004 – 2013.  Mayor Gregerson annually announces an Action Agenda that focuses on housing, public safety, safe neighborhoods and a sustainable, well-run city.

Contact Information

Photo of Jennifer Gregerson

Joe Marine

Mayor 2006 - 2013

Mayor Marine served on the Mukilteo City Council from 1998 – 2001 before accepting a position to serve as a state legislator. in 2005, Mayor Marine was elected Mayor and served two-terms. Mr. Marine was again elected to the Mukilteo City Council in 2019. During Mayor Marine’s tenure, the City was named 10th out of the top 100 US small towns to live in by Money Magazine (2009). In late 2013, The City acquired Japanese Gulch.

Contact Information

Photo of Joe Marine

Don Doran

Mayor 1998 - 2005

Mayor Doran served two terms as Mayor of Mukilteo. During Mayor Doran’s tenure, the City acquired Mukilteo State Park from the state and renamed it “Mukilteo Lighthouse Park” in 2003.

Contact Information

Photo of Don Doran

Brian Sullivan

Mayor 1990 - 1997

Mayor Sullivan served on the Mukilteo City Council  from 1986-1989 then served two terms as Mayor. In  2007, Mayor Sullivan was elected to and served three terms on the Snohomish County Council. In 2019, he was elected County Treasurer.

Contact Information

Photo of Brian Sullivan

Emory Cole

Mayor 1986 - 1989

Mayor Cole served one term from 1986 – 1989. He is the owner of Emory’s on Silver Lake restaurant.

Contact Information

Photo of Emory Cole

John Corbett

1982 - 1985

Mayor Corbett served one term from 1982 – 1985. Mr. Corbett owned several businesses in the area and was a real estate developer. Mayor Corbett passed away in 2007.

Contact Information

Photo of John Corbett

John Sweat

Mayor 1977 - 1981

Mayor Sweat was appointed Mayor Pro Tem by the City Council on November 7, 1977.  He was elected Mayor in 1978 and served until the end of 1981. Prior to serving as Mayor, he served in the Navy and worked as an engineer. During Mayor Sweat’s tenure, development of Harbour Pointe began in 1978. Mayor Sweat passed away in 2012.

Contact Information

Photo of John Sweat

James Huetson

Mayor 1974 - 1977

Mayor Huetson served from January 21, 1974 until his resignation on October 17, 1977. He also served on several special committee positions within Snohomish County. After he retired from GTE in 1988, he worked as a special deputy with the Sheriff’s office from 1989 to 1996.  Mayor Heutson passed away in 2017.

Contact Information

Photo of James Huetson

Jerimiah Lavell

Mayor 1972 - 1973

Jerimiah “Jerry” Lavell was appointed by the City Council on January 17, 1972 and served through 1973. Mayor Lavell passed away in 1989.

Contact Information

Photo of Jerimiah Lavell

J.O. Simpson

Mayor 1970 - 1971

Mayor Simpson was elected Mayor on November 17, 1969, and resigned in November 1971.  That same month, Neptune’s Galley opened on Front Street, the current home of Diamond Knot. Mayor Simpson passed away in 2008.

Contact Information

Photo of J.O. Simpson

Ronald Kane

Mayor 1964 - 1969

Mayor Kane was elected Mayor on April 6, 1964 served one term from 1964 – 1969. In 1967, the Boeing Everett plant opened and in 1969, the Boeing freeway was built. Mr. Kane was a 25-year volunteer of the Mukilteo Fire Department, and served 8 years on the City Council before becoming Mayor. Mayor Kane passed away in 2002.

Contact Information

Photo of Ronald Kane

Richard Taylor

Mayor 1956 - 1964

Mayor Taylor was elected to the first City Council in 1947 and served until 1951. He was elected Mayor on June 4, 1956, and served two-terms from 1956 – 1964. After serving as Mayor, Mr. Taylor went on to the state legislature, where he spent three terms. Mayor Taylor worked to secure the land for Mukilteo State Park, now known as Lighthouse Park. He may be best known for co-owning with his brother Ed Taylor the restaurant “Taylor’s Landing”, which is now Ivar’s.  Mayor Taylor passed away in 2005.

Contact Information

Photo of Richard Taylor

Alfred Tunem

Mayor 1947 - 1956

Mayor Tunem was the first Mayor of Mukilteo, serving from 1947 – 1956. He was born in Norway, and passed away in 1972.

Contact Information

Photo of Alfred Tunem

Contact Information

Photo of

Thank you for your upload